Sun

As I entered the Orlando Convention Center on Sunday morning I came upon an incredible exhibit of 52 quilts telling the story of living with Alzheimer’s disease.

The Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative is a grass roots effort to raise awareness and fund research for Alzheimer’s disease. It was started by Ami Simms whose mother is one of 5.1 million Americans who suffer from Alzheimer’s disease. “I began the Alzheimer’s Art Quilt Initiative because I think it is possible to make a difference, one quilt at a time.”

The exhibit is beautiful and moving. Experiencing these quilts made me realize how many ways Alzheimer’s affects so many people. They also eloquently demonstrate how powerful art can be in telling a story.

Throughout the conference I will proudly wear my “I saw the quilt’ sticker.

