I read BBC online every day to see what’s going on around the world related to ageing. Today I’ll share three articles focusing on research on ageing and ‘drugs’ – I call it The Good, the Bad and the Tasty.

The Good News: Blood pressure drugs help elderly – Imperial College London researchers announce that blood pressure drugs cut the risk of strokes and heart problems in the over 80s.

The Bad News: Medication ‘worsens’ Alzheimer’s’ – a research report from Kings College London says that anti-psychotic drugs have no long-term benefit for patients with mild symptoms and may even cause a deterioration in behavior.

And The Tasty News: Daily Caffeine Protects the Brain – in the past there have been conflicting reports on the benefits or detriments of caffeine. Now research published by the University of North Dakota suggests that coffee may cut the risk of dementia by blocking the damage cholesterol can inflict on the body.

You never know what will effect your life. Personally I avoid taking any medications at all. But I do love a good cup of coffee. Thankfully I don’t have to worry about that, for now at least.

