Quality. Such a simple, yet complex concept. The level of quality is what makes the difference for everything, whether it’s food service, schooling or ageing services.

Quality of life incorporates so many aspects of life and if you don’t have a high quality of life, everything else is difficult. When you throw in old age and/or poor health, quality of life becomes extremely important. That’s where My Home Life comes in.

My Home Life is an innovative programme based in the United Kingdom. It is a programme designed to optimise life in care homes based on the following eight practice themes.

* Managing transitions
* Maintaining identity
* Creating community
* Sharing decision-making
* Improving health & healthcare
* Supporting good end-of-life
* Keeping workforce fit for purpose
* Promoting a positive culture

You can find out more about the themes here.

I have the pleasure of working with a leader from My Home Life on a presentation for AAHSA’s annual meeting in Chicago, USA. I look forward to learning more about the programme then. If you are in Chicago, please stop by the session. If you aren’t, let me know if you have any comments or questions I can pass along.

